I-Form Advanced Manufacturing SFI Research Centre

I- FORM will enhance processing efficiency for Irish manufacturing, allowing the production of highly customised 3-D printed components exhibiting superior performance. This will be achieved through the efficient use of advanced process monitoring, incorporating embedded sensors and process control in the entire value chain from “powder to final product”.  Advanced data analytic techniques will ensure superior product quality and reduce manufacturing waste. The Centre will enhance the manufacturability of bespoke components and products using 3D printing techniques.  This technology enables manufactured components to be customised for individual end users. For example, artificial joints and implantable medical devices can be tailored to match the needs of individual patients.  The I-FORM Centre will make a distinct and positive impact on the international competitiveness of Irish additive manufacturing.  

Lead Institution:  University College Dublin

Director: Prof Denis Dowling

Prof Denis Dowling obtained his degree and PhD through DIT and UCD respectively. He worked for over 20 years in Enterprise Ireland in technologically-important materials research. There he played a key role in the development of research activities within Irish companies. Denis took up an academic position in UCD Engineering in 2008. He has had an outstanding record of scholarship including 160 peer reviewed journal papers and 11 book chapters. He has a demonstrated record in translating research from academia to industry. For example, he has been very active with the SME sector, as evidenced by his 7 patent awards and 6 technology licences. Denis was the recipient of UCD’s prestigious Innovation Award (2012) and the Institute of Materials Finishing Gold Medal Award (2013).  In the case of the latter he was only the 15th recipient of this, the Institute’s highest award, in its 88-year history.

Academic Partner Institutions:

Dublin City University, NUI Galway, Trinity College Dublin, Institute of Technology Sligo, Waterford Institute of Technology.


Prof Alojz Ivankovic, University College Dublin

Prof Robert Shorten, University College Dublin

Prof Padraig Cunningham, University College Dublin

Prof Fengzhou Fang, University College Dublin

Prof Dermot Brabazon, Dublin City University

Prof Alan Smeaton, Dublin City University

Prof Sean Leen, NUI Galway

Prof Valeria Nicolosi, Trinity College Dublin